2014 Goessl Book Prize Winners


Books Awarded to Outstanding Graduating High School Seniors

Twenty-one of the St. Louis area’s best students of German have received the eleventh annual Goessl Memorial Book Prize awarded to graduating high school seniors. The awards are supported by funds given in honor of the late Dr. Alfred Goessl, German teacher emeritus at the University of Missouri-St. Louis.

This year’s book is the newly published Dictionary for German as a Foreign Language from Langenscheidt.  Congratulations to the following students and their teachers who nominated them.

Dr. Ingeborg Goessl expressed her congratulations received to the students who the book prize named in honor of her late husband.  “When reading letters like these, I realize that as long as there are students like these and the teachers to teach them there is hope for the future.  My special thanks go to all those fine teachers and their exceptional students.”

Jacob Laseter

Brentwood H.S.

Nominated by Heather Wall

Alexander Roberts

Eureka Senior High

Nominated by Christine Staszcuk

Samuel Kopfinger

Fort Zumwalt North H.S.

Nominated by Eric Richards

Dana Faulkner

Francis Howell H.S.

Nominated by Melissa Dumas

Mary Jane Ruiz

Francis Howell North H.S.

Nominated by Anne McParland

Tiffany Bond

Hazelwood West H.S.

Nominated by Sunny Ray Serna and Amy Randles

Breanna Kolk

Wentzville Holt High School

Nominated by Dee Elder

Haley Botteron

John Burroughs School

Nominated by Olga Russell

Kirsten Sack

Kirkwood Senior High School

Nominated by Eric Hasselschwert

Katharine Chang

Ladue Horton Watkins High School

Nominated by Deborah Lund

Amelia Himebaugh

Lindbergh High School

Nominated by Laura Conti

Eric Heidbrink

Marquette Senior H.S.

Nominated by Kim Hotze

Andrew Koontz

Mascoutah H.S.

Nominated by Kristen Link

Ian Hurt

Mehlville Senior H.S.

Nominated by Cheryll Bowman

Zoe Oakley


Nominated by Nancy Richardson

Zoe Oakley:

Kelly Cumiskey

Nerinx Hall

Nominated by Kimberly Ady

Evan Barthel

Oakville Senior H.S.

Nominated by Caryn Miller

Danny Smith

Parkway Central H.S.

Nominated by Amy McMahon

Rachel Epplin

Parkway South H.S.

Nominated by Leslie Peterson

Brett Dayton

Pattonville Senior H.S.

Nominated by Stephanie Frerker

Kyle Hertz

Rockwood Summit H.S.

Nominated by LeAnn Falcetti Sevcik

German Culture Center • SSB #427 • One University Boulevard • St. Louis, MO 63121-4499 • 314 516-6620